Data independence

Share this

  • Introduction to Data Independence
  • Types of Data Independence

Introduction to Data Independence

Data independence The ability to modify schema definition in a level, without the schema definition in the next level, is called data independence.

There are two types of data independence.

1.Logical data independence

2.Physical data independence

logical data independence

Replace without external schema (change level) to change the logical schema (conceptual level) is called logical data independence.

For example – it is possible to add or remove attributes, new entities for conceptual schema, without making changes in the external schema.

physical data independence

Changing the physical schema without making changes in the logical schema is called physical data independence.

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *